TOWNSHIP, RANGE & SECTION

Each piece of land in Oklahoma can be located by giving its township, range, and section. There are two areas for numbering – 74 counties and the Panhandle with 3 counties.

In the 74 counties townships are numbered from 1 South to 10 South and from 1 North to 24 North. Ranges are from 1 East to 27 East and from 1 West to 26 West.

In the Panhandle the townships are from 1 North to 6 North. The Ranges are from 1 East to 28 East.

6	5	4	3	2	1
7	8	9	10	11	12
18	17	16	15	14	13
19	20	21	22	23	24
30	29	28	27	26	25
31	32	33	34	35	36

Each township / range has 36 sections which are 36 square miles. They are numbered as the graph shows. As an example, the Oklahoma State Capitol in Oklahoma City is in Township 12 North, Range 3 West, and Sections 14 and 23.